Starting Valet Mode
With Tesla Model Y in Park, touch the driver profile icon on the top of the touchscreen, then touch Valet Mode. The first time you enter Valet mode, you will be prompted to create a 4-digit PIN that you will use to cancel Valet mode. When Valet mode is active, the touchscreen displays the word Valet above the driving speed and the Valet mode driver profile displays on the touchscreen. You can also use the mobile app to start and cancel Valet mode (provided Model Y is in Park). When using the mobile app, you do not need to enter a PIN because you are already required to log into the app using your Tesla Account credentials.
NOTE: If the PIN to Drive setting is enabled, you must enter the driving PIN before you can define or enter a Valet PIN. Once in Valet mode, Model Y can be driven without the valet needing to enter the driving PIN.
NOTE: The PIN to Drive setting is not available when Valet mode is active. If you forget your valet PIN, reset it from inside Model Y by entering your Tesla Account credentials (which also cancels Valet mode). You can also reset your PIN using the mobile app.
WARNING: Do not use Valet mode when towing a trailer. The torque limitations of Valet mode can make it difficult for Model Y to pull a trailer up a hill.
Canceling Valet Mode
With Model Y in Park, touch the Valet Mode driver icon on the touchscreen’s status bar, then enter your 4-digit PIN. When you cancel Valet mode, all settings associated with the most recently used driver profile and climate control settings are restored, and all features are available.
NOTE: You do not need to enter a PIN to cancel Valet mode from the mobile app.
Valet Mode Limitations
When Model Y is in Valet mode, the following restrictions apply:
• Speed is limited to 70 mph (113 km/h).
• Maximum acceleration and power are limited.
• Front trunk and glovebox are locked.
• Home and Work locations are not available in the navigation system.
• Voice commands are disabled.
• Autopilot convenience features are disabled.
• The Allow Mobile Access setting is disabled.
• HomeLink (if applicable in your market region) is not accessible.
• Driver Profiles are not accessible.
• The touchscreen does not display the list of keys that can access Model Y.
• Wi-Fi and Bluetooth are disabled. When Model Y is in Valet mode, you cannot pair new Bluetooth devices or view or delete existing paired devices.
NOTE: If a Bluetooth paired device or a known Wi-Fi network is within operating range (approximately 30 feet or 9 meters) of Model Y in Valet mode, Model Y will connect to it.