How to use Valet Mode on Model Y

Starting Valet Mode

With Tesla Model Y in Park, touch the driver profile icon
on the top of the touchscreen, then touch Valet Mode.
The first time you enter Valet mode, you will be
prompted to create a 4-digit PIN that you will use to
cancel Valet mode.
When Valet mode is active, the touchscreen displays the
word Valet above the driving speed and the Valet mode
driver profile displays on the touchscreen.
You can also use the mobile app to start and cancel
Valet mode (provided Model Y is in Park). When using
the mobile app, you do not need to enter a PIN because
you are already required to log into the app using your
Tesla Account credentials.
NOTE: If the PIN to Drive setting is enabled,
you must enter the driving PIN
before you can define or enter a Valet PIN. Once in Valet
mode, Model Y can be driven without the valet needing
to enter the driving PIN.
NOTE: The PIN to Drive setting is not available when
Valet mode is active.
If you forget your valet PIN, reset it from inside Model Y
by entering your Tesla Account credentials (which also
cancels Valet mode). You can also reset your PIN using
the mobile app.
WARNING: Do not use Valet mode when towing a
trailer. The torque limitations of Valet mode can
make it difficult for Model Y to pull a trailer up a hill.

Canceling Valet Mode

With Model Y in Park, touch the Valet Mode driver icon
on the touchscreen’s status bar, then enter your 4-digit
PIN.
When you cancel Valet mode, all settings associated
with the most recently used driver profile and climate
control settings are restored, and all features are
available.
NOTE: You do not need to enter a PIN to cancel Valet
mode from the mobile app.

Valet Mode Limitations

When Model Y is in Valet mode, the following
restrictions apply:
• Speed is limited to 70 mph (113 km/h).
• Maximum acceleration and power are limited.
• Front trunk and glovebox are locked.
• Home and Work locations are not available in the
navigation system.
• Voice commands are disabled.
• Autopilot convenience features are disabled.
• The Allow Mobile Access setting is disabled.
• HomeLink (if applicable in your market region) is not
accessible.
• Driver Profiles are not accessible.
• The touchscreen does not display the list of keys that
can access Model Y.
• Wi-Fi and Bluetooth are disabled. When Model Y is in
Valet mode, you cannot pair new Bluetooth devices
or view or delete existing paired devices.
NOTE: If a Bluetooth paired device or a known Wi-Fi
network is within operating range (approximately 30
feet or 9 meters) of Model Y in Valet mode, Model Y
will connect to it.

5 1 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments